Commissioning Event Committee

Roberta Madden - Co-Chair, ERA-NC Alliance; Co-Director, Ratify ERA-NC
Marena Groll - Co-Chair, ERA-NC Alliance; Founder, NC 4 ERA
Audrey Muck - President, Triad National Organization for Women
Patricia Sledge - Past President, NC Business and Professional Women
Virginia Adamson - Parliamentarian, NC Business and Professional Women
Gailya Paliga - President, NC National Organization for Women
Carrie Gallagher - Member, ERA-NC Alliance
Diana Gray - President, Forsyth County Democratic Women
Judy Lotas - Advisory Council, ERA Coalition

Special Thanks

Anne Boyle, Wake Forest University Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department The Honorable Carla Cunningham, NC Representative Primary Sponsor ERA Bill H166 in 2015 session

WorkPlace Options, Raleigh, NC

Jessica Neuwirth, President and Director, National ERA Coalition
Bettina Hager, DC Director, National ERA Coalition
Roberta Francis, Founding Chair, ERA Task Force
National Council of Women's Organizations

ERA-NC ALLIANCE

A Non-Partisan, Lead Organization of the National ERA Coalition

LEAD ORGANIZATIONS

American Association of University Women of NC
Democratic Women of NC
League of Women Voters of NC
NC 4 ERA

NC Business & Professional Women
NC National Organization for Women
North Carolina Women United
Ratify ERA-NC
Women's Forum of NC

The Equal Rights Amendment (ERA) is a proposed amendment to the United States Constitution that would expressly prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex.

Interested in joining us? www.era-nc.org

ERAS NC ALLIANCE

Commissioning Program

Equal Pay Day
Tuesday, April 12, 2016
3:30 - 5:30 pm

Wake Forest University
DeTamble Auditorium
(Tribble Hall)
Winston-Salem, NC

Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Department



ERA-NC Alliance Commissioning Program

Tuesday, April 12, 2016

News Conference

2:30 - 3:00 pm

Roberta Madden, Co-Director of Ratify ERA-NC

Dr. E. Faye Williams, National President and CEO of the National Congress of Black Women

The Honorable Floyd B. McKissick, Jr., NC Senator

Gailya Paliga, President of NC National Organization for Women

<u>Interviews</u> 3:00 – 3:30 pm

Panel Discussion 3:30 – 4:30 pm

Panelists

Dr. E. Faye Williams, National President and CEO of the National Congress of Black Women

Gailya Paliga, President of NC National Organization for Women Marena Groll, Founder of NC 4 ERA

Dr. Michael Pisapia, Wake Forest University Assistant Professor of Politics and International Affairs

Moderator
Audrey Muck, President of Triad National Organization for Women

Reception 4:30 – 5:30 pm

Available for purchase at reception, signed copies of ERA Coalition President Jessica Neuwirth's new book, "Equal Means Equal: Why the Time for an Equal Rights Amendment Is Now"

Featured Guests

Dr. E. Faye Williams - Williams is National President and CEO of the National Congress of Black Women and former Counsel to the U.S. Congress District of Columbia Sub-Committee on the Judiciary and Education. She is a former Professor of International Law at Southern University Law Center in Baton Rouge, LA. She previously served as Legislative Counsel and Chief of Staff for a District of Columbia Council member.



NC Senator Floyd B. McKissick, Jr. (D) - McKissick represents District 20 in the NC Senate. He was first appointed to the chamber in April 2007. He has been a partner at McKissick and McKissick since 1990. He is a former member of the Durham City Council and Durham City Board of Adjustment. McKissick was the primary sponsor of ERA bill S184 in the 2015 session.



Gailya Paliga - Paliga is President of NC National Organization for Women (NOW). She was first elected as President in 2009. She has served on the NC NOW Board of Directors and the NC NOW PAC for many years and previously served on the NC Woman United Board. Paliga has past lives as a Computer Programmer and as an ESL teacher.



Dr. Michael Pisapia - Pisapia is a Wake Forest University Assistant Professor of Politics and International Affairs. His dissertation, *Public Education and the Role of Women in American Political Development, 1852-1979*, won the American Political Science Association's 2011 William Anderson Award, and is being revised into a book manuscript. He won a 2013 Carrie Chapman Catt Prize for scholarship on women and politics, in support of his research.

